DFA is the new All India DMDB Gold cup Football champs.

May 04, 2012 12:16 | Education&Sports

Dharamshala/Arvind Sharma

DFA Hoshiarpur won the 24th All India Sheed Durga Mal - Dal Bahadur (DMDB) Gold Cup football championship at Dharamshala on Thursday. District football association team of Hoshiarpur defeated the last year’s champion RCF Kapurthala by a solitary goal of virender singh in the sixth minute of the match. Hoshiarpur was runners up last year in this tournament. Winners were awarded the cash prize of 51000, while the runners up got a sum of 31,000 rupees.

14 teams from all over India participated in the 24th addition of this tournament. Earlier in the semis,Railcoch factory Kapurthala beat Union Bank of India Mumbai 4-3 in a tie breaker and DFA Hoshiarpur beat RCF Mumbai 1-0 to enter finals.  UBI Mumbai was awarded fare play trophy of the tournament .Gurmeet Singh of DFA Hoshiarpur bagged the best goal keeper award, while Deepak Kirmani of UBI Mumbai adjudged the best player of the championship.

Brigadier Govind Singh Rathore  gave away the prizes. He said that the Dharamshala is fast emerging as the the sports city on the world map.