Delhi elections: New ray for Indian democracy

Dec 04, 2013 11:32 | Poltics

Delhi Assembly elections 2013-main focus on AAP,BJP and Congress

Dharamsala (Arvind Sharma )

Delhi Assembly elections 2013 could set a mirror for general elections of the country 2014, a semi-final for the 2014 Lok Sabha election. This year main interest shall be on the performance of  Aam Admi Party (AAP) as Delhi votes today the  December 4 in the Assembly elections . Three parties Congress,BJP and AAP are the front runners . Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) worked hard to stop Congress from clinching a record fourth win. Arvind Kejriwal's AAP seems to be the most popular new entrant, and could be the game changer.

 LK Advani, Narendra Modi, Arun Jaitley, Sushma Swaraj and Nitin Gadkari put entire fforts to come to power in Delhi. Whereas Congress President Sonia Gandhi addressed one rally and Vice President Rahul two, 75-year-old Chief Minister Sheila Dikshit seen as the lone fighter to have a fourth consecutive office term.

The new popular election fighter Aam Admi Party mainly resorted to door-to-door campaigning while its leader Arvind Kejriwal addressed scores of road shows.

 Both Congress and BJP have dismissed AAP as a serious contender but various pre-poll surveys predicted significant support for the newly formed party. Rise in prices of essential commodities besides the anti-incumbency factor are the speed breakers for ruling Congress. People in delhi basically demands for  BRT corridor, de full statehood for Delhi and relief from  high water and power tariff.

A total of 810 candidates are in the fray for the 70- member Assembly. BJP has fielded candidates in 66 seats, AAP in 69 and Congress in all 70 constituencies ,BSP has fielded candidates in 69 seats, NCP in nine and Samajwadi Party has fielded candidates in 27 seats. A total of 224 independents are also in the fray, for 1.19 crore voters (including4.05 lakh first-timers)  to decide the fate today.

The stakes in this election are high for Dikshit, who mainly highlighted her achievements and promised single command system for  problems of multiplicity - a common economic zone for the entire National Capital Region to construct double-decker flyovers to ease traffic congestion, while BJP's Chief Ministerial candidate Harsh Vardhan promised to cut power tariff by 30 per cent and slash vegetable prices within 30 days of coming to power,also promised 12 subsidized LPG cylinders in a year and Women Security Force to ensure safety of women. The AAP said it will pass the Jan Lokpal Bill within 15 days of coming to power besides promising to cut power tariff by 50 per cent. It said 700 litres of water per day will be given free to each household.

Countrymen will find how politically educated are the Delhians in these elections