polling begins in Himachal

May 07, 2014 11:13 | Poltics

Shimla: People of Himachal Pradesh with the positive mindset start using their political fundamnetal right " Right to Vote" today. Throughout the  state large number of voters has come out to cast their votes to elect their representative.

So far 20% of the polling is recorded.

Polling in Himachal for its four Lok Sabha seats and by-poll for one assembly seat began Wednesday, officials said.

As many as 38 candidates are in the fray for the parliamentary seats - Kangra, Mandi, Hamirpur and Shimla.

The main contenders include Shanta Kumar of the BJP in Kangra and Congress candidate Pratibha Singh from Mandi.

Incumbent BJP MPs from Hamirpur and Shimla, Anurag Singh Thakur and Virender Kashyap, are re-contesting from their respective constituencies.

Anurag Thakur is facing a tough fight this time as his vival candidate Rajender Rana is giving him a night mares.

In the 2009 Lok Sabha election, the BJP had won three seats, while Congress leader Virbhadra Singh had won the Mandi seat.

Polling is being held at 7,382 polling stations.

Over 4.8 million electors are eligible to vote.