Malti Gyan Peeth Puraskar 2015 announced

May 01, 2015 15:30 | Chandigarh

Chandigarh,  May 1st Friday 2015 (Kulbir Singh Kalsi):-   Fifteen teachers, three each in Physics, Chemistry, Mathematics, English & Social Science, from Government higher secondary and high schools of Punjab, have been selected for the Malti Gyan Peeth Puraskar 2015 for promoting quality teaching  and encouraging education of girl child in Punjab.

Recognised by the Punjab Government, Malti Gyan Peeth Puraskar is awarded to the best teachers every year since 2013, and comprises of Rs One Lakh, a Certificate of Excellence, and a Robe of Honour.

The Award has been instituted by Mohinder  Singh Syngle Education & Research Society, promoted byfirst generation industrialist, educationist and philanthropist,  Mr. Manoj Singhal, CMD of MM Auto Industries Ltd.and group companies and his mother, a renowned educationist, Smt. Malti Mohinder Singh Syngle, in the year 2003.

Malti Gyan Peeth Puraskar has been  instituted to honour Smt. Malti Mohinder Singh Syngle,  who tirelessly worked for over four decades, educating the girl child. She retired  from Punjab Govt. Educational services as Principal, in the year 1980. Even after retirement, she, in her 94th year now , continues her efforts unabated   for spread of education, especially for under privileged students in the rural sector. She was one of the first woman in Punjab  to achieve “Bachelor of Teaching” in the year 1951, having done her post graduation in 1948.                                                   

Mr. Manoj Singhal, chairman of the jury, informed that over  100 nominations were received from all over Punjab after shortlisting by the Directorate of Public Instructions (Schools), and today, a high profile jury conducted written test and personal interviews at Hotel Taj since morning to declare the winners.

The jury chaired by Mr Manoj Singhal included Dr. Nand Kishore Garg, Chancellor and Dr. S.P. Bansal, Vice Chancellor of Maharaja Agrasen University;  former Chief Election Commissioner of IndiaMr. B.B. Tandon; DPI Schools Punjab Mr. B.S. Dhol, PCS; Delhi’s former Commissioner of Police Mr. B.S. Brar IPS; Principal of Delhi Public School, New Delhi, Dr. D.R. Saini;  Dr. Maninder Sidhu, Professor, Govt College for Women; DGMC President Manjit Singh GK, and Member Secretary of the Jury-Mr. Tej K. Magazine, Director , MM Auto Industries Ltd..

Former President of India, Mr APJ Abdul Kalam shall give away the awards to the winners at a function in New Delhi on 29th May, on the 94th birthday celebrations of Mrs. Malti Mohinder Singh Syngle.  Chief Minister of Punjab Shri Parkash Singh Badal shall preside and Union Cabinet Minister for  Women and Child Development Smt Maneka Sanjay Gandhi shall be the Guest of Honour.

 Last year, the Vice President of India Shri M. Hamid Ansari gave away the awards with Union Minister for Women & Child Development  Smt. Maneka Sanjay Gandhi and Deputy Chief Minister of Punjab Sardar Sukhbir Singh Badal as Guests of Honour.

 The first awards in 2013 were given away by Punjab’s Deputy Chief Minister Mr Sukhbir Singh Badal, and former Deputy Prime Minister of India Mr. L.K. Advani, to the winners at a function in New Delhi.

 The Society  runs  B.Ed. Degree College and English medium CBSE approved  co-ed  higher secondary school in 22 acre campus in District Sangrur, Punjab, providing value based quality education to rural youth, and has plans to extend the scope of the awards to national and international levels, Mr Tej K. Magazine informed.