ICCW invited nominations for bravery awards

Jun 05, 2015 15:50 | Haryana

Chandigarh, June  5- With a view to give due recognition to the children who perform acts of bravery and to inspire other children to follow their example, Indian Council for Child Welfare (ICCW) has invited nominations for the year 2015 awards under its scheme of National Awards to Children for Bravery.

While stating this today, a spokesman of the Council said that the last date for submission of applications is September 30, 2015. Nominations have been invited through such Councils in States or Union Territories of ICCW, various departments of the State Government including Director Generals and Commissioners of Police of all States and Union Territories.

          He said that nominations would be received in the prescribed application form which could be obtained from headquarters office of the ICCW. The form should be recommended by two of the competent authorities which included Principal or Headmaster of school in which the applicant is studying or Head of Panchayat or Zila Parishad, General Secretary or President of the State Council for Child Welfare, Collector or District Magistrate or Government official of equivalent rank and Superintendent of Police of the area or Police Official of higher rank. The form has to be accompanied by a write-up of about 250 words giving the details of the deed performed by the applicant, proof of date of birth, newspaper or magazine clippings and or the First Information Report (FIR) or Police Diary filed with the Police Station. The account of the incident as well as the supporting documents should preferably be endorsed by two of the competent authorities.

He said that the child should not be below six years and above 18 years of age on the date of the incident. The incidents which have occurred between July 1, 2014 and June 30, 2015would be considered for the 2015 awards. The Selection Committee might at its discretion relax the date by a maximum period of three months prior to July 1, 2014 if it so deems fit. The selection would be made by a high powered committee constituted by ICCW comprising representatives from Secretariats of the President of India, Vice-President of India, Ministries of Human Resource Development, Women and Child Development, Youth Affairs and Sports, Social Justice and Empowerment, Health and Family Welfare, Railways, Defence, Home Affairs, Labour, Rural Development, Information and Broadcasting, AIR, Doordarshan, Police, some NGOs, office bearers and members of the Council.

The awards are presented by the Prime Minister prior to Republic Day and the recipients also participate in Republic Day parade in the Capital.