Annual prize distribution function held at Govt. College of Art, Sector 10, Chandigarh

Apr 24, 2018 14:05 | Chandigarh

Chandigarh, 24th April, 2018: The epoch making evening today was reserved for a gala presentation at the Tagore Theatre by the staff and students of Govt. College of Art, Sector 10, Chandigarh on the occasion of the Annual Prize Distribution Function 2018. It was a befitting occasion for the spontaneous outburst of dynamism in a broad spectrum of performances.

The celebration commenced with the hospitable reception of the Honorable Chief Guest – Sh. Anurag Agarwal, IAS, Home Secretary, Chandigarh Administration and Guest of Honor - Sh. Rubinderjit Singh Brar, PCS, Director School Education, who graced the occasion with their esteemed presence. Both the dignitaries were received with full respects and were escorted by the reception committee to the auditorium. The function began with the traditional auspicious lamp lightening ceremony followed by Welcome address by the Chief Coordinator – Mrs. Alka Jain and Shabad singing by Simranpreet and group. The audience comprised of a galaxy of intellectuals, invited guests, faculty, staff, students, parents and college alumni.

The HOD cum Principal, Sh. Sachin Rana – IAS, the navigator of the flagship presented the preamble of achievements along with video presentation reflecting on the achievements of the year gone by in a digital version. The Principal highlighted the activities of the various departments along with activities and achievements of the institute, and extolled the faculty members and students for their honest and generous efforts. He also thanked honorable Chief Guest for sparing his invaluable time for the Annual celebrations. 

The Prize Distribution Ceremony started off by acknowledging the talent and endeavors of our brimming students who remained successful this year in Academics, Sports and Co-curricular activities.

Kulwinder Singh received the award for Overall Best performance in the Annual Art Exhibition. Aakriti Saxena (Girls) and Samanpreet Singh (Boys) were awarded as the Best Athletes. Our College Girls Table Tennis Team won Silver medal in the Panjab University Inter College ‘B’ Division Tournament during the concluding session.

Govt. College was proud to announce 11 Special Awards bestowed to the students for their outstanding work in their respective departments i.e. Foundation course, Applied art, Painting, Graphics (Print-Making), and Sculpture. Approximately 80 other students received awards for academic achievements. About 50 awards were given for Sports Activities – Tennis, Badminton, Chess, Races, Jumps and Throws bagged during the Annual Sports meet. Our students also earned an unmatchable repute by earning 28 prizes in the Youth and Heritage Festival in various activities like Photography, Painting, Clay Modeling, Cartooning, Drawing, Still Life, Naala Making, Installation, Folk Dances etc.

The achievers, both individual and teams were awarded by the Chief Guest, Guest of Honor along with the Principal and Chief Coordinator. After the Prize distribution the honorable Chief Guest addressed the audience with generous words of appreciation and encouragement. He stated that he was very happy to note that Govt. College of Art motivates its students by felicitating them with cash prizes as this serves as an impetus to their stellar performance, consistently. He urged students to hone and sharpen their talents and potentials to not only carve a niche for themselves or bring laurels to the college but also aim to bring glory to their state as well as their nation. 

Dr. Amit Sharma presented the Vote of Thanks. The evening was a rainbow of cultural program with energy loaded and captivating dance performances with bright colorful costumes. The highlights of the program were Fashion Show, Folk Dance – Luddi (Boys) and Giddha (Girls) along with highly energetic and entertaining solo, duet and group performances by the college students. The program culminated with the promise of leaving behind a handful of brighter hues for the next session.