Chandigarh Sahitya Academy recognised literary persons of Chandigarh

May 28, 2018 17:39 | Chandigarh


Chandigarh, 28th May 2018: Chandigarh Sahitya Academy organized an Annual Award Ceremony today where authors were honored for their outstanding contribution in the field of literature . Sh. V P Singh Badnore, Hon'ble Governor of Punjab and Administrator U.T Chandigarh was the Chief Guest on this occasion. 
The awards were given in three different categories. Five authors (named below) were presented with Award of Recognition with the cash prize worth 51000 for bringing out exemplary books in languages like Hindi, English, Punjabi, Sanskrit and Urdu.
1. Santosh Dhiman (Hindi)
2. Manmohan ( Punjabi)
3. Shelly Walia ( English)
4. Shankar ji Jha ( Sanskrit)
5.  Madhukar Arya ( Urdu)
Best book of the year award was given to eight authors 
1. Pratima Srivastava ( English Novel)
2. Dheera 
Khandelwal ( Hindi Poetry)
3. Om Prakash Sondhi ( Hindi Novel)
4. Mayank Mishra ( Hindi story)
5. Pramila Gupta ( Hindi Translation)
6. Goverdhan Gabbi ( Punjabi Story)
7. Subhash Sharma ( Punjabi Drama)
8. Jang Bahadur Goyal ( Punjabi Translation)
All these authors were awarded with the cash prize worth 25000.
Apart from these, 18 authors were given 15000 cash as grant in aid for publishing of books.
Sh. VP Singh Badnore congratulated all the winners and applauded the initiative of Chandigarh Sahitya Academy to honor such rare talent. He was amazed to see the turnout at the event and expressed his happiness on knowing that Chandigarh is so rich with literary talent.
Sh. Madhav Kaushik, Chairman Chandigarh Sahitya Academy shared that   with so many city based authors bringing out exceptional work in the field of literature , Chandigarh will be soon known as Intellectual Chandigarh.