State Mental Health Authority constituted

Apr 29, 2019 20:09 |

The state government has constituted the State Mental Health Authority under the Mental Health Care Act whit immediate effect.

A Spokesperson of the state Health and Family Welfare department said here today that Additional Chief Secretary/Principal Secretary (Health) will be the Chairman of the Authority. Special/Joint/Deputy/Under Secretary of the Health and Social Welfare departments, Director, Health Services, Director, Health Safety and Regulation, Head of Department Psychiatry, IGMC Medical Superintendent, Mental Hospital and Rehabilitation, Shimla and OSD-Mental Health have been made ex-officio Members.

Dr. N.K. Sharma, practising Psychiatry and Nagrota Bagwan in Kangra Kangra district, Dr. Ramesh Kumar, Professor, department of Psychiatry, Dr. SLBS Govt. Medical College, Mandi Ner Chowk, Dr. Shatrughan Singh, Assistant Professor, Clinical Psychology at Composite Rehabilitation Centre (CRC) Sundernagar, District Mandi, Usha Mehta, Professor and Principal, Sister Nivedita, Govt. Nursing College, IGMC Shimla, J.R. Verma, Retd. IAS, and Arjun Bhardwaj have been made Members of the Authority.