India beats Indies by an innings and 51 runs

Nov 08, 2013 16:31 |

Records so far in India- West Indies Test at Kalcutta

Dharamsala (Arvind Sharma)

Shane Shillingford became the third-quickest West Indies spinner as well as 41st West Indian after Alf Valentine (8 Tests) and Sonny Ramadhin (11 test) to complete his 50 Test wickets in just his 11th Test when he had Murali Vijay stumped by Denesh Ramdin.

Rohit Sharma (177) became the 14th Indian to score a century, and second to have 150 on Test debut. He also became the first to do so against West Indies.

Rohit’s innings tally is now the highest by an Indian debutant at No.6. Suresh Raina held the previous record with his 120 against Sri Lanka at Colombo (SSC) in 2010.

Rohit’s innings is the highest by a debutant at No.6 in world  , others are Doug Walters (155 vs England,Brisbane, 1965-66), Michael Clarke (151 vs India, Bangalore, 2004-05), Mark Waugh (138 vs England, Adelaide, 1990-91), Bryan Valentine (136 vs India, Mumbai Gym, 1933-34) and Kane Williamson (131 vs India, Ahmedabad, 2010-11).

Incidentally, 2013 is the first calendar year in which two Indians scored a century on Test debut. Shikhar Dhawan made 187 against Australia at Mohali in March this year.

R Ashwin (92*) made his highest score in Test cricket. Interestingly, Ashwin’s earlier highest score was (103), which was  also against West Indies – at Mumbai (Wankhede) in 2011-12.

Ashwin became the 8th Indian to remain unbeaten in the 90s at close of a day’s play against West Indies and managed to reach the three-figure mark the following day!

280runs between Rohit and Ashwin is India’s highest seventh-wicket partnership by Indians in the first Test at Eden Gardens, Kolkata on Friday.The previous highest of 259 was by MS Dhoni and VVS Laxman against South Africa at the same venue fifth-best for this wicket against any opponent. Incidentally, three of them have come against West Indies .

280runs between Rohit and Ashwin is world’s 3rd highest seventh-wicket partnership. The two others are DS Atkinson,-CC Depeiaza 347 of West Indies v Australia and Waqar Hasan- Imtiaz Ahmed 308 of Pakistan v New Zealand.