Non bailable warrant against Anurag Thakur

Aug 01, 2014 20:31 | Poltics

Non bailable warrant issued by CJM Dharamsala against Anuraag thakur 


Dharamsala(Arvind Sharma )


Mr.Jaswant Singh the .Chief Judicial magistrate of  Dharamsala  has  issued a non-bail able warrant against Dhumal’s son Anuraag Thakur,  a BJP MP from Hamirpur in Himachal, for not appearing in the  court for a case filed by state vigilance and anti-corruption bureau's 


 Regarding the himachal Cricket Associations investigations, On   October 24, 2013 Anurag Thakur  visited vigilance bureau office at Dharamsala to join investigation in a case of cheating registered against HPCA, which happens to be his birthday. After a controversy erupted on the issue the vigilance bureau postponed the date to October 31. Anurag's supporters who accompanied him had staged a protest at vigilance bureau office premises.


Anurag alleged that bureau was harassing him and deliberately called him on his birthday. The Vigilance Bureau registered a case in CJM court under the case was registered against Anuraag and five others under Section 186 of the Indian Penal Code (obstructing public servant in discharge of public functions) on October 24, 2013


The CJM  court on Friday issued non-bailable warrant against Hamirpur MP and Himachal Pradesh Cricket Association (HPCA) president Anurag Thakur and former Bharatiya Janta Yuva Morcha (BJYM) state chief Narender Attri in case of obstructing a public servant from discharging his duty.


Chief judicial magistrate rejected Thakur's application for exemption from personal appearance in the case and order the state vigilance and anti-corruption bureau's north zone police station in-charge to execute the order and produce both the accused in next hearing on August 20.


Thakur's councel Abhimanyu Chopra submitted in the court that due to the ongoing parliament session, Thakur who is an MP from Hamirpur could not appear in the court.


However, the court rejected the application on the basis that no documentary proof was provided to prove that accused is an MP and neither Thakur has signed the application submitted for exemption from personal appearance.


Another accused, state BJP media co-incharge Hemanshu Mishra against whom the CJM court has issued bailable warrant during last hearing was granted bail on Friday on furnishing bail bond of Rs. 10,00



Other four accused in the case who appeared before the court includes former minister and BJP spokesperson Praveen Sharma, Kutlehar MLA Varinder Kanwar, HPCA spokesperson Sanjay Sharma and former Kangra-Chamba BJP media incharge Vishaw Chakshu Puri.