Himachal to recognise journlism, awards announced

May 01, 2011 9:58 | Poltics

Awards for Developmental Journalism

 Himachal Pradesh Government has announced Awards for Developmental Journalism for the year 2009. Chief Minister, Prof. Prem Kumar Dhumal will give away these Awards on 4th May, 2011 at Shimla.


Ram Subhag Singh, Secretary, Information and Public Relations said that National Award goes to Charanjit Ahuja of Financial Express, Chandigarh.


State Award goes to Manish Sharma of Pehali Khabar from Shimla. For second best story in this category Shimla based journalists Ashwani Sharma of Indian Express, Rachana Gupta of Dainik Jagran and Archana Phull of the then Hindustan Times have been bracketed.  The Third best story in this category has been found of Shimla based journalist Sunil Sharma of Divya Himachal.


District Award goes to Ajay Thakur of Daink Jagran from Una district. The second best story in this category has been found of D.R. Saklani, Divya Himachal from Mandi district and third best story of the then Mandi based journalist Sunil Rana of Dainik Jagran.


The Award for Electronic Media for the year 2009 will be given alongwith Award of 2010.

Ram Subhag Singh said that the State Government gives Awards for Developmental Journalism every year. The entries received are first screened by a Screening Committee set up by the State Government and then placed before the Board of Judges comprising of eminent journalists for final decision.