Eight top teams to compete in prize money basketball at Rohtak

Aug 01, 2016 17:40 | Education&Sports

ROHTAK, AUG 1:India’s rising basketball powerhouse Haryana is all set to host its first ever All India Basketball Tournament for Men from August 2 to 6. It will be organised by the Basketball Club of Haryana (BCH) under the aegis of the Haryana State Basketball Association and the Basketball Federation of India.

The eight participating teams are: · ONGC, Dehradun (Group A), Indian Railways (Group B), Punjab (Group B), Indian Army (Group B), Income Tax, Chennai (Group A), Indian Air Force (Group A), Haryana (Group A) and Basketball Club of Haryana (Group B).

The teams have been divided into two preliminary groups A and B. Matches will be played in a league-cum-knockout basis every day from 4 to 10 pm in the indoor hall of the Rajiv Gandhi Sports Complex here. The top two teams from each Group progress to the semifinals, followed by the finals on August 6.

This is a prize money tournament and the winning team will receive Rs 1,00,000 and a trophy while the runners up get Rs 50,000. Additionally, every man of the match will be awarded Rs 2100 and the tournament most valuable player (MVP) will get INR 5100. Individual winners will also receive trophies, and additionally the MVP will be gifted a full Rido basketball set.


"We are excited to bring finally India’s biggest international players and club teams to Haryana. There are many All India Tournaments in the south and we felt that northern states too should play host. We hope this encourages our Haryana youth to pursue basketball careers," said Mr Sudhir Hooda, organising secretary, who is also the newly appointed head coach of the Indian Railways men’s team. "Since there are two Haryana teams in the fray, this will be great exposure to local players against India’s best squads."

"We plan to grow this event year on year and include women teams as well in the future," said Advocate Navdeep, Secretary of Basketball Club of Haryana. "We have already roped in sponsors and we thank them for their support. We hope this event will be a grand success for all stakeholders."

The tournament sponsors are Shiv Naresh, LPS Bossard, Kalinga University (Naya Raipur, Chhattisgarh), Pahli Khabar, Desan International (‘Rido’), D2M Hotel, Disha and Scholars Rosary.

The opening ceremony will be held on August 2 from 3:30 pm onwards at the Rajiv Gandhi State Sports Complex, Sector-6, Rohtak followed by the inaugural set of matches.

Mr Chander Parkash (IAS), Commissioner, Rohtak will be the chief guest at the inauguration ceremony, while Mr Chander Mukhi Sharma, Secretary-General of the Basketball Federation of India will be the guest of honour.

The stars who are expected to be seen in action include current India internationals namely Vishesh Bhriguvanshi, Amritpal Singh, Yadwinder Singh (ONGC), Haryana’s very own Narender Grewal and Joginder Singh (Indian Air Force), Akilan Pari and Rikin Pethani (Income Tax, Chennai). The former internationals include Trideep Rai, Riyazuddin, Mohit Bhandari, Anoop Mukkaniyil, Shabeer Ahamed, Riyazuddin and R Murali Krishna (all ONGC).

Arjuna awardees Om Prakash Sr. and Ajmer Singh will be in attendance throughout the event, as well as Dhyand Chand Awardees Ram Kumar and Aparna Ghosh.