10 Cricketers from Himachal are on auction list for IPL

Jan 25, 2018 16:05 | Education&Sports

Dharamshala (Arvind Sharma ) 25/01/18

An Indian Premier League (IPL) auction is a stage where relatively lesser known and uncapped players some times get auctioned  at astounding prices. Year 2018 auction is starting tomorrow and where a total number of 578 players shall be auctioned out of which 360 are Indian.Among these  many top international and Indian players , 10 Himachali  players  are also there who  can also hit the jackpot in 11 th edition of  auction.  This are Prshant Chopra,Paras Dogra,Ankush Bains, Gurvinder Singh,Nikhil Gangta,Pankaj Jaiswal, Mayank Daagar, Rishi Dhawan ,Vipul Sharma and Sumit Verma.

Prashant Chopra (born 7 October 1992) was a member of  the 2012 ICC Under-19 Cricket World Cup champion India Team. Chopra holds the record of most runs by a Himachal Pradesh batsman in a Ranji Trophy season.In October 2017 in the 2017–18 Ranji Trophy, he made 271 not out on the opening day in the fixture between Himachal Pradesh and Punjab. This was the second-most number of runs scored in one day in the Ranji Trophy and the joint-highest score made by a player for Himachal Pradesh. Chopra went on to make 338, the tenth-highest total by a batsman in the Ranji Trophy and the first triple-century by a batsman for Himachal Pradesh.

Paras Dogra (born 19 November 1984 ) made his debut in first-class cricket in 2001. He is a defensive right-handed batsman and a right-arm legbreak bowler .In November 2015, Dogra equalled the record of double centuries scored in the Ranji Trophy when he scored his seventh score of 200 runs or more. In the Indian Premier League, he has played for Rajasthan Royals, Kings XI Punjab and Kolkata Knight Riders so far.

Ankush Bains (born 16 December 1995) played for  Indian U-19  as  wicket keeper. He was signed up by Chennai Super Kings for IPL 2015 at his base price of Rs10 lakhs. He was also bought by new team "Rising Pune Supergiants" for Rs.10 Lack .

Pankaj Jaiswal (born 20 September 1995) , he in October 2017,  made the second-fastest fifty in the history of the Ranji Trophy, doing so in 16 balls.

Mayank Jitender Dagar (born 11 November 1996) is a right-handed batsman and slow left-arm orthodox bowler. He was part of India's squad for 2016 Under-19 Cricket World Cup. He made his first-class debut for Himachal Pradesh in the 2016–17 Ranji Trophy on 6 October 2016.

Bipul Sharma (born 28 September 1983 ) is an all-rounder who bats left-handed and bowls slow left-arm orthodox. He is currently a part of Sunrisers Hyderabad squad in the Indian Premier League

Gurvinder Singh (born 12 June 1983), made his first-class debut for Himachal Pradesh in the 2010–11 Ranji Trophy on 24 November 2010. Nikhil Gangta (born 1 September 1992) is an Indian first-class cricketer who plays for Himachal Pradesh.

Sumeet Verma (born 18 November 1990),has played first-class and List A cricket for Himachal Pradesh.

Whereas so far Himachali  boy Rishi Dhawan was remain a part of each IPL session. Rishi Dhawan (born 19 February 1990) is primarily a medium-fast bowling all-rounder who bats in the middle-order. Dhawan has played for Kings XI Punjab in the 2008 IPL. He was signed-up by the Mumbai Indians in 2013. In February 2017, he was bought by the Kolkata Knight Riders team for the 2017 Indian Premier League for 55 lakhs.

He made his One Day International debut for India against Australia on 17 January 2016. He made his Twenty20 International (T20I) debut against Zimbabwe at Harare Sports Club on 18 June 2016.