Total of 141 polling stations will be set up in -Fatehpur Assembly

85685 voters in the Fatehpur assembly constituency of Kangra: District Election Officer


Dharamsala (Arvind Sharma)29/9/21


The people of Himachal will  go to poll on 30 th October to choose three MLA’s and a MP ,the seats of whom are lying vacant due to the deaths of these public representatives. The Election Commission on Tuesday announced that byelections in Mandi parliamentary constituency and three assembly segments of Arki, Jubbal-Kotkhai and Fatehpur in Himachal Pradesh will be held on October 30. The votes will be counted on November 2.

One of these constituencies is Fatehpur, is  in Kangra district which was represented by Sujjan singh pathania of Congress till early this year before his death.

District Election Officer cum  Deputy Commissioner Kangra , Dr. Nipun Jindal informed that a total of 141 polling stations will be set up in -Fatehpur Assembly Constituency of district Kangra, out of which 111 are major polling stations and (Keeping in view of COVID-19) 30 auxiliary polling stations will also be set up. He informed that 33 polling stations have been kept  as  sensitive and 5 polling stations  in  very sensitive category.

He said that till today , there are  85685 registered voters in the assembly constituency, out of which 43158 are male voters and  42527 are female voters and 1536 are service qualifying voters.

Dr Jindal said, “Two polling stations 46-Barot-1 and 57-Sunet-1 have been selected as  women managed polling stations , where only women employees will be deployed. In this Vidhan Sabha constituency, 18-Nerna-3 polling station has a maximum 949 voters and 105-Sath Kuthehra has minimum numbers of 96 voters. Similarly 72-Baili Lithiyadwan is the lowest altitude polling station while 97-Agahar is the highest altitude polling station. The  17-Nerna-2, 18-Nerna-3, 32-Raihan-3, 33-Raihan-4 and 73-Riyali would be set up as model polling stations.”


Politically significant, in Fatehpur of  Kangra district, Pathania’s son Bhawani Singh Pathania has staked claim to the Congress ticket from Fatehpur. Bhawani Singh quit a career in the banking and insurance sectors to take the political plunge. He has already launched his poll campaign. For the BJP, selecting a candidate will not be easy as there is tough competition between former MP Kripal Parmar and local leader Baldev Thakur.

This seat has been dominated by congress, as it  was won by Sujjan Singh Pathania of Congress in 2002,2009, 2012 and 2017 whereas Dr Rajan sushant of BJP won it in 2007.

In a eight corner contest of 2017 assembly elections Sujjan singh Pathania defeated Kirpal parmar of BJP by 1284 votes.